[MetroActive Music]

[ Music Index | Santa Cruz | MetroActive Central | Archives ]

[whitespace] Indie Jones

Rare indie bands head to Santa Cruz for an underground music festival

SANTA CRUZ AND BAY AREA indie bands head off the beaten path for a music festival that showcases underground venues as much as underground bands. Directions to unlisted locations are available by calling 426.8610.

Thursday, Sept. 28: Oliver Brown, Sweet Nothing and Cuspidor lead off the Big Bang with a show at Community Television, 816 Pacific Ave, Santa Cruz, at 8pm. $3.

Friday, Sept. 29: Sin in Space, Cowboy and Pan Pan play an underground location in downtown Santa Cruz at 9pm. $3.

Saturday, Sept. 30: Aislers Set, Dear Nora and Spike & Princess play UCSC's Pizza Junxion (located at the Student Center) at 8pm. $3.

Sunday, Oct. 1: Hate Mail Express and the Serum Greys play the Stevenson College Rec Room, UCSC at 8pm. $4.

Monday, Oct. 2: Calvin Johnson, Mrah, the Microphones and Kaleidoscopic Jelly Bean Head Gnomes play an underground location at 8pm. $3.

Tuesday, Oct. 3: Drunk Horse, Lady Fingers & Laura Limes and Comets on Fire play the Saturn Cafe, 145 Laurel St, Santa Cruz, at 9:30pm. Free.

Wednesday, Oct. 4: Perfume, the Dr. Peppers and the Sucks play the Santa Cruz Hotel, 1003 Cedar St, Santa Cruz, at 9pm. Free.

Thursday, Oct. 5: Run Return, Invisible, the Paper Cuts and Casiotone for the Painfully Alone play the Cube (call for location) at 8pm. $3.

Friday, Oct. 6: Exploding Crustaceans, the Four-Eyes, the Automatones and the Bananas play Porter College's Soundbox, UCSC, at 8pm. $3.

Saturday, Oct. 7: Cherry Ames and Nuzzle play UCSC's Pizza Junxion (located at the Student Center) at 8pm. $3.

Sunday, Oct. 8: The Lowdown, Deerhoof and Tracy & the Plastics play an underground location at 8pm. $3.

[ Santa Cruz | MetroActive Central | Archives ]


From the September 20-27, 2000 issue of Metro Santa Cruz.

Copyright © Metro Publishing Inc. Maintained by Boulevards New Media.




Foreclosures - Real Estate Investing
San Jose.com Real Estate