[Silicon Valley Almanack

[ Almanack Index | Metro | Metroactive Central | Archives ]

Citizens Guide

[whitespace] Issues Handled by Cities

These guys are on the front line of government. Some of the not-so-sexy stuff they keep tabs on: garbage pick-up, business licenses and fees, tree-cutting, potholes on city streets, parking, city-maintained parks, building permits and codes, police and fire.

Cities like San Jose and Santa Clara have district council representatives (check with the city clerk to locate your councilmember). In smaller cities with an at-large electoral system, the mayor and city council represent the entire city. For the cities that make up the valley, most officers are listed in the front of the phone book.

City of Campbell--70 N. First St., Campbell 95008 (408/866-2100). Mayor: Jeanette Watson; Manager: Bernard Strojny; Clerk: Anne Bybee

City of Cupertino--10300 Torre Ave., Cupertino 95014 (408/777-3200). Mayor: Michael Chang; Manager: Donald Brown; Clerk: Kim Smith.

City of Gilroy--7351 Rosanna St., Gilroy 95020 (408/848-0400). Mayor: K.A. Mike; Administrator: Jay Baksa; Clerk: Rhonda Pellin.

City of Los Altos--1 N. San Antonio Rd., Los Altos 94022 (650/948-1491). Mayor: Kris Jesto; Manager: Dianne Gershuny; Clerk: Carol Scharz.

Town of Los Altos Hills--26379 Fremont Rd., Los Altos Hills 94022 (650/941-7222). Mayor: Sid Hubbard; Manager: Jeff Peterson; Clerk: Pat Dowd.

Town of Los Gatos--110 E. Main St., LG 95032 (408/354-6832). Mayor: Linda Lubeck; Manager: David Knapp; Clerk: Marian Cosgrove.

City of Milpitas--455 E. Calaveras Blvd., Milpitas 95035 (408/942-2310). Mayor: Henry Manayan; Manager: Greg Larson; Clerk: Gail Blalock.

City of Monte Sereno--18041 Saratoga-Los Gatos Rd., Monte Sereno 95030 (408/354-7635). Mayor: Susanne Jackson; Manager: Gay Strand; Clerk: Andrea Chelemengof.

City of Morgan Hill--17555 Peak Ave., Morgan Hill 95037 (408/779-7259). Mayor: Dennis Kennedy; Manager: David Jinkens; Clerk: Irma Torrez.

City of Mountain View--500 Castro St., P.O. Box 7540, MV 94041 (650/903-6300). Mayor: Ralph Faravelli; Manager: Kevin Duggan; Clerk: Katherine Koliopoulos.

City of Palo Alto--P.O. Box 10250, PA 94303 (650/329-2571). Mayor: Joe Huber; Manager: June Fleming; Clerk: Gloria Young.

City of San Jose--801 N. First St., SJ 95113. (408/277-4237; fax: 408/277-3868).
Mayor: Susan Hammer (email: mayorsj@ci.sj.ca.us).
Manager: Regina Williams; Clerk: Patricia L. O'Hearn.
San Jose City Council members:
District 1--Trixie Johnson, 277-5438; email: district1@ci.sj.ca.us
District 2--Charlotte Powers, 277-4282; email: charlotte.powers@ci.sj.ca.us
District 3--David Pandori, 277-5231; email: david.pandori@ci.sj.ca.us
District 4--Margie Fernandes, 277-5320; email: margie.fernandes@ci.sj.ca.us
District 5--Manny Diaz, 277-5157; email: manny.diaz@ci.sj.ca.us
District 6--Frank Fiscalini, 277-5166; email: frank.fiscalini@ci.sj.ca.us
District 7--George Shirakawa, 277-5226; email: district7@ci.sj.ca.us
District 8--Alice Woody, 277-5242; email: district8@ci.sj.ca.us
District 9--John Diquisto, 277-5275; email: john.diquisto@ci.sj.ca.us
District 10--Pat Dando, 277-5251; email: pat.dando@ci.sj.ca.us

City of Santa Clara--1500 Warburton Ave., Santa Clara 95050 (408/984-3000). Mayor: Judy Nadler; Manager: Jennifer Sparacino; Clerk: Judy Boccignone.

City of Santa Cruz--809 Center St., Santa Cruz 95060 (408/429-3540). Mayor: Celia Scott; Manager: Richard C. Wilson; Clerk: Emma Solden.

City of Saratoga--13777 Fruitvale Ave., Saratoga 95070 (408/868-1200). Mayor: Donald Wolfe; Manager: Larry Perlin; Clerk: Betsy Corey.

City of Sunnyvale--456 W. Olive Ave., P.O. Box 3707, Sunnyvale 94088-3707 (408/730-7500). Mayor: Jim Roberts; Manager: Robert LaSala; City Clerk: Carol Butler.

[ San Jose | Metroactive Central | Archives ]


From the March 5-11, 1998 issue of Metro.

Copyright © Metro Publishing Inc. Maintained by Boulevards New Media.


Foreclosures - Real Estate Investing
San Jose.com Real Estate