[Silicon Valley Almanack

[ Almanack Index | Metro | Metroactive Central | Archives ]

Citizens Guide

[whitespace] Issues Handled by State Officials

In the state Legislature, voters have two local representatives: one in the Senate and one in the Assembly. The state Legislature is much more the domain of special interests than the local level. Nevertheless, state lawmakers aren't there just to craft bills for organizations with lobbyists. Their offices will give out information on pending bills. Some of the more common questions or complaints constituents have for the state legislative reps concern the DMV, unemployment benefits, the Franchise Tax Board, state highways, and MediCal.

State Assembly

Mike Honda--100 Paseo de San Antonio, #300, SJ 95113 (408/269-6500; fax: 408/277-1036). Democrat, 23rd District (San Jose). Email: [email protected]

Liz Figueroa--43271 Mission Blvd, Fremont 94539 (510/440-9030; fax: 510/440-9035). Democrat, 20th District (Fremont, Newark, Milpitas, East SJ). Email: [email protected]

Jim Cunneen--901 Campisi Way, #300, Campbell 95008 (408/369-8170; fax: 408/369-8174). Republican, 24th District (Cupertino, Saratoga, Los Gatos, Monte Sereno, Campbell, west San Jose). Email: [email protected]

Ted Lempert--4149-B El Camino Way, PA 94306-4010 (650/856-2181; fax: 650/856 2187). Democrat, 21st District (Palo Alto, Stanford, East Palo Alto, Los Altos, southeast Menlo Park). Email: [email protected]

Elaine W. Alquist--275 Saratoga Ave, #205, Santa Clara 95050 (408/296-1616; fax: 408/296-3052). Democrat, 22nd District (Santa Clara, Mtn. View, Sunnyvale, parts of San Jose). Email: [email protected]

State Senate

Bill Lockyer--22634 Second St, #104, Hayward, 94541 (510/582-8800; fax: 510/582-0822). Democrat, 10th District (Sunnyvale, Santa Clara, Alviso, some of Milpitas, Alameda County). Email: [email protected]

Bruce McPherson--7 John St, Salinas 93901 (408/753-6384; fax: 408/753-6385). Democrat, 15th District (southeast San Jose, some of Santa Clara County, and Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito counties). Email: [email protected]

Byron D. Sher--260 Main St, #201, Redwood City 94063 (650/364-2080; fax: 650/364-2102). Democrat, 11th District (Palo Alto, Los Gatos, Los Altos, Cupertino, Saratoga, Campbell). Email: [email protected]

John Vasconcellos--100 Paseo de San Antonio, #209, SJ 95113 (408/286-8318; fax: 408/286-2338). Democrat, 13th District (Sunnyvale, Mtn. View, Santa Clara, parts of San Jose). Email: [email protected]

Other State Officials

Governor--Pete Wilson (R), State Capitol, Sacramento, 95814 (916/445-2841; fax: 916/445-4633).

Lieutenant Governor--Gray Davis (D), State Capitol, Room 1114, Sacramento, 95814 (916/445-8994; fax: 916/323-4998).

Attorney General--Dan Lungren (R), 1300 I St., #1750, Sacramento, 95814 (916/445-9555; fax: 916/327-7892).

Secretary of State--Bill Jones (R), 1230 J St., #209, Sacramento (916/445-6371; fax: 916/324-4573).

Treasurer--Matt Fong (R), 915 Capitol Mall, Room 110, Sacramento (916/653-2995; fax: 916/653 3125).

Controller--Kathleen Connell (D), 300 Capitol Mall, #1850, Sacramento (916/445-3028; fax: 916/445-6379).

Insurance Commissioner--Chuck Quackenbush (R), 770 L St., #1120, Sacramento (916/445-5544).

Public Instruction Superintendent--Delaine Eastin, 721 Capitol Mall, Room 524, Sacramento (916/657-2451; fax: 916/657-4975).

[ San Jose | Metroactive Central | Archives ]

From the March 5-11, 1998 issue of Metro.

Copyright © Metro Publishing Inc. Maintained by Boulevards New Media.

Foreclosures - Real Estate Investing
San Jose.com Real Estate